Adjuster Licensing in Florida – Become a Florida Insurance Claims Adjuster

Adjuster Licensing in Florida – Become a Florida Insurance Claims Adjuster

Residents of the State of Florida, and non-residents of states that do not require adjuster licensing, are eligible for the Florida All Lines Independent or Company Adjuster license if:

1. You are 18 years or older;

2. An online application is completed and the $55.00 application fee is paid;

3. You are a US citizen or a legal alien with a work authorization;

4. Fingerprints are submitted at one of the sites empowered by the Florida Department of Financial sets (Out-of-state applicants will receive a fingerprint card from the department for completion);

5. You successfully complete the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation by the University of Central Florida, or one of the other empowered licensing designations, or you pass the state licensing examination.

Florida also maintains a reciprocal licensing arrangement with the following states.

Alabama – Independent adjusters only

Alaska – Independent adjusters only

Arkansas – Independent adjusters only

Connecticut – Independent, Public, and Company adjusters

Georgia – Independent and Public adjusters only. (Does not require licensure for Company adjusters)

Idaho – Independent adjusters only

Illinois – Public adjusters only

Kentucky – Independent, Public, and Company adjusters

Maine – Public and Independent adjusters

Michigan – Public and Independent adjusters

Mississippi – Independent adjusters only

New Mexico – Independent and Company adjusters

North Carolina – Independent, Public, and Company adjusters

Oklahoma – Independent, Public, and Company adjusters

Oregon – Public and Independent adjusters

Pennsylvania – Public adjusters

South Carolina – Independent and Company adjusters only

Texas – Independent and Company adjusters

West Virginia – Independent, Public, and Company adjusters

Washington – Public and Independent adjusters

Wyoming – Independent, Public, and Company adjusters

Utah – Public and Independent adjusters

States that do not require adjuster licensing include Colorado, District of Columbia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin.


Florida first approved the Accredited Claims Adjuster designation in 2003. This designation provided the first and original exemption from the state licensing examination. The course became obtainable as a distance learning course by Florida Insurance University in Partnership with the University of Central Florida in 2004. One out of four adjuster licenses in Florida have been approved using the ACA Designation.

Although other providers are now offering claim adjuster designations, over 250 insurance and adjusting companies use the ACA Designation for licensing resident and non-resident adjusters. The ACA Website may be located at

The ACA Designation consists of a series of open-book, multiple choice tests and a written assignment. Students will learn to read and research policy questions, clarify claim issues and, at the conclusion of the course, will received a University of Central Florida certificate of completion which will excuse them from the state licensing exam.


Every FL adjuster is required to complete 24 hours of CE every two years to retain licensure. The 24 hours must include state approved courses for 2 hours-Ethics; 10 hours-Law; 12-hours-Optional.

All required courses are located on the UCF website and all work may be completed online at:

leave your comment